No. 977/18, Kandy Road, Bulugaha Junction,
Kelaniya, Sri Lanka.

Tel: +9411 2987860
Fax: +9411 2984099

Donation of Radiation Detection and Measuring Instruments for Nuclear Security to the Sri Lanka Airforce.

Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Regulatory Council (SLAERC) is participating International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Integrated Nuclear Security Support Plan for several years and IAEA assistance is provided for strengthening of nuclear Security in Sri Lanka by way of giving training, provision of instruments and expert missions for improvement of nuclear security infrastructure.

At the request of the SLAERC, the IAEA has donated three sets of radiation measuring instruments to be used for strengthening nuclear security and source search activities in Sri Lanka. Considering the importance of having nuclear security at international airports in Sri Lanka, the SLAERC has decided to donate one instrument kit to Sri Lanka Airforce (SLAF) to strengthen nuclear security especially at Bandaranayake International Airport at Katunayake.

This instrument kit will enhance the capabilities of the Chemical Biological, Radiological, Nuclear and Explosive (CBRNE) unit of the SLAF to detect unauthorized movement of nuclear and other radioactive material through International airports in Sri Lanka.

The donation took place at the State Ministry of Solar Power, Wind and Hydro Power Generation Projects Development in Colombo. The State Minister of Solar Power, Wind and Hydro Power Generation Projects Development, Hon. Duminda Dissanayaka handed over the instrument Kit symbolically to the Commander of the Air Force, Air Marshal Sudarshana Pathirana.

Air Vice Marshal CB Labrooy (The Director Ground Operations), Wing Commander Nilendra Perera (Commanding Officer of the SLAF CBRNE Wing), Dr. D.M.S. Dissanayake (Chairman of the SLAERC), Mr. H.L. Anil Ranjith (Director General of the SLAERC) and Mr. Sumith Kolambage (Deputy Director - SLAERC) were also present during handing over of the instruments.

SLAERC wishes to thank Mr. Raja Adnan Raja Abdul Aziz, Director, Division of Nuclear Security and the staff of the Nuclear Security Division for excellent support given to us providing these instruments.

Capture credits (Sri Lanka Airforce and State Ministry Media)